The lawyer
On-line consultation
Ask your legal questions or submit to review your (draft) contract
Individual > The lawyer > Other strenghts

Other strenghts

TRAINING AND SPECIALISATION

Your lawyer is a legal professional. Whether working alone or in a law firm, whether a generalist or specialised, your lawyer has the same obligations with regard to his professional competence and to continually updating his knowledge.

Lawyers may advertise those fields they prefer dealing with and in which they have greater competence. They may also have their specialist capacity validated by the Bar.

For more information, see: http://www.barreaudeliege.be/EN/Matieres.aspx.

The Liege Bar maintains close links with the University of Liege and its Faculty of Law. Within the Commission Université Palais (CUP), the Bar and the University organise top-notch conference cycles in Liege, Brussels and Charleroi.

For more information, see: http://local.droit.ulg.ac.be/sa/cup/

The Bar also stages a number of training or academic events targeting its members or the public at large.

 

FORMAL NOTICE SERVED BY YOUR LAWYER AND THE “LAWYER'S DEED”

Having formal notice served by your lawyer can interrupt the limitation period for one year. Doing so avoids the initiation of legal proceedings for the sole purpose of interrupting the limitation period, and provides the parties with additional time to conduct negotiations.

 

A private deed countersigned by your lawyer and the lawyers of the other parties has a particular cogency, with the lawyer effectively guaranteeing the identity of the signatories. Moreover, he confirms - subject to the interpretation of the deed - that the parties have reached agreement on the deed's content.

 

YOUR LAWYER AT THE HEART OF EUROPE

Liege is ideally situated at the intersection of road, river and air routes, and as such links up to no less than four European states.

Building on this long-term business and cultural interlinkage, the Liege lawyers naturally support and assist their clients in their regional, inter-regional and international relations, especially in the context of the MEUSE–RHINE EUREGION and regardless of the language used.

The Liège Bar has set up twinning agreements with the Bars of GhentBordeauxLyonParisKinshasa/GombeKöln and Rwanda.

Moreover, the Bar, alongside a number of lawyers, is a member of the International Association of LawyersConférence Internationale des Barreaux de tradition juridique communeEuropean Bars FederationAvocats Sans FrontièresInternational Criminal BarWorld Coalition against the death penalty and the Council of Bars and Law Societies of Europe (CCBE).

 

CONSULTING YOUR LAWYER ONLINE

The legal profession is not standing still, and lawyers are having thoughts about its future. They would like to see themselves as forward-looking, well and truly implanted in the 21st century.

This is why the Bar offers its members and clients a package of online legal services available in 4 different languages, giving you the opportunity to pose legal questions online or submit a (draft) contract for a legal opinion.

Consult your lawyer: http://www.barreaudeliege.be/EN/Consultation.aspx

 

PROFESSIONAL INSURANCE

In the unlikely event of a fault or error, your lawyer's professional liability is covered by a civil liability insurance policy. This covers any damage caused in the exercise of his profession, either personally or through his employees or trainees.

L'avocat
Consultation en ligne
Posez vos questions juridiques ou encore soumettez à avis un (projet de) contrat
Particulier > L'avocat > Ses autres atouts

Ses autres atouts

SA FORMATION CONTINUE ET SA SPECIALISATION

Votre avocat est un professionnel du droit. Qu'il travaille seul ou en association, qu’il soit généraliste ou spécialisé, votre avocat a les mêmes obligations de compétence et est tenu de se former en permanence.

Les avocats peuvent faire connaître les matières qu’ils traitent de préférence et dans lesquelles ils ont donc acquis une plus grande compétence. Ils peuvent aussi faire valider leur qualité de spécialiste par l’Ordre.

Pour plus d’information, voyez : http://www.barreaudeliege.be/FR/Matieres.aspx .

Le barreau de Liège a tissé des liens étroits de collaboration avec la Faculté de droit de l'Université de Liège. Le barreau et l’université au sein de la Commission Université Palais (CUP) organisent des cycles de conférences réputés à Liège, Bruxelles et Charleroi.

Pour plus d’informations, voyez : http://local.droit.ulg.ac.be/sa/cup/

Le barreau organise de nombreuses manifestations à caractère formatif ou scientifique à destination de ses membres ou du grand public.

 

LA MISE EN DEMEURE ADRESSEE PAR VOTRE AVOCAT ET L’ACTE D’AVOCAT

La mise en demeure adressée par votre avocat peut interrompre la prescription durant un an. Ceci permet d'éviter l’introduction d’une procédure judiciaire à seul fin d’interrompre la prescription et offre aux parties un délai supplémentaire pour mener des négociations.

 

L’acte sous seing privé contresigné par votre avocat et les avocats des autres parties a une force probante particulière.

L’avocat est en effet garant de l’identité des signataires. Il confirme également que – sous réserve de l’interprétation de l’acte – les parties ont marqué leur accord sur le contenu de cet acte.

 

VOTRE AVOCAT AU COEUR DE L'EUROPE ET DU MONDE

Liège est idéalement située au croisement des routes terrestres, fluviales et aériennes et fait le lien entre pas moins de quatre Etats européens.

Forts de ce brassage économique et culturel permanent, les avocats liégeois accompagnent et assistent naturellement leurs clients dans leurs relations régionales, interrégionales ou internationales, spécialement dans le cadre de l’EUREGIO MEUSE-RHIN, et ce quelle que soit la langue utilisée.

Le barreau de Liège est jumelé avec les barreaux de Gand, Bordeaux, Lyon, Paris, Kinshasa/Gombe et du Rwanda.

Par ailleurs, l’Ordre, comme certains avocats, est membre d'organisations internationales comme l'Union Internationale des Avocats, la Fédération des Barreaux d’EuropeAvocats Sans Frontières, le Barreau Pénal International, la Coalition mondiale contre la peine de mort, la Conférence Internationale des Barreaux de tradition juridique commune ou, par le biais d'AVOCATS.BE, le Conseil Consultatif des Barreaux Européens (CCBE).

 

LA CONSULTATION EN LIGNE DE VOTRE AVOCAT

Le métier d’avocat évolue. Les avocats réfléchissent à l’avenir de leur profession. Ils veulent être les avocats de demain, de la société du 21ième siècle.

C’est pourquoi l'Ordre met à disposition de ses membres et à votre disposition, un module quadrilingue de services juridiques en ligne.

Grâce à celui-ci, vous avez la possibilité de poser des questions juridiques ou encore de soumettre pour avis un contrat ou projet de contrat, par voie électronique.

Consultez votre avocat: http://consultation.barreaudeliege.be

 

SES ASSURANCES PROFESSIONNELLES

La responsabilité professionnelle de votre avocat est assurée, en cas de faute ou d’erreur, par une assurance de responsabilité civile. Cette assurance couvre la responsabilité civile professionnelle de votre avocat pour le dommage qu’il causerait dans l'exercice de sa profession, soit par son fait personnel, soit par le fait de ses collaborateurs ou stagiaires.